TV Monday: Misfits, Sherlock, Jane by Design and Newsradio

Posted on janeiro 24, 2012

0


Tv Monday Banner

Jump to english

Então, isso foi o que eu assisti a milhões de anos atrás, quando ainda estava em Sp. Eu fiquei sem internet por um tempo, e depois quando voltei pra casa, ela estava uma zona, então só consegui postar agora. Como sempre, esse post contém spoilers.

MisfitsMisfits

Misfits começou essa temporada em uma posição interessante. Era uma série muito bem vista pela crítica, mas que sempre teve um estilo relaxado, sem se preocupar em “ser” alguma coisa, mas que de repente, tinha algo a provar. E nem adianta tentar negar que no início da temporada a maior pergunta na sua cabeça era: será que a série sobrevive sem o Nathan? Mesmo que oficialmente ele não fosse o personagem principal, Robert Sheehan era claramente o destaque da série, e o seu personagem, amado ou odiado, certamente gerava muita discussão.

Se a série conseguiu sobreviver sem o Nathan? Pra mim, sim, a série vai muito bem, obrigada. O Rudy não é o Nathan, é claro, e mesmo que o roteiristas tenham criado outro personagem bem cômico pra preencher o vácuo, eles conseguiram fazer com que o Rudy fosee diferente o bastante, e bem interessante. Na verdade eu queria ainda mais Rudy nessa temporada, ou mais especificamente, mais “alt-Rudy”, porque toda vez que ele aparecia, eu sabia que algo engraçado, e triste, e louco iria acontecer.

Mas essa é sempre minha reclamação com Misfits, por causa das temporada britânicas curtas (e misfits teve um temporada relativamente grande, com 8 episódios), e todo o tempo gasto com personagens que geralmente acabam mortos no final do episódio, eu sempre sinto como se não tivesse passado tempo o bastante com os a gangue principal. Mas essa é uma pequena reclamação, em uma série que consegue fazer muita coisa com seus personagens, em tão pouco tempo.

Nessa temporada, por exemplo, Alisha viveu seu romance com Simon, e percebeu que não era tão legal ter um super-herói como namorado. Ela também teve que confrontar a pessoa que costumava ser , e viu o quanto ela cresceu ao longo da série. E diferente de séries piores, ela não se transformou magicamente na namorada perfeita, ou uma pessoa totalmente diferente só porque começou a namorar o Simon, ela continuou sendo safada como sempre, e não perdeu seu senso de humor.

Curtis também teve uma jornada interessante com seu novo poder, e explorou questões de sexualidade  um jeito que apenas uma série de ficção-científica poderia Em uma época onde sexualidade ainda é uma questão complexa, ou até mesmo inconfortável pra algumas pessoas, misfits conseguiu lidar com isso de uma maneira onde era impossível que o telespectador não questionasse suas próprias convicções sobre o assunto. Kelly, por outro lado, teve um dos arcos mais “normais”, e finalmente achou o amor, mas mesmo que a estória não fosse nada demais, foi muito bem executada, e fez Seth um personagem regular, algo que me fez muito, muito feliz. Já a estória do Rudy não foi tão fundo quanto eu queria, mas teve algumas partes bem engraçadas, e eu espero que ele continue com o mesmo poder na próxima temporada, para podermos explorar os dois Rudys com mais detalhes.

Simon continuou o arco da temporada passada, e eu tenho que dizer que não sei se a série foi muito feliz nesse aspecto. A sua constante necessidade de ser o super-herói pareceu meio forçada pra mim, mas talvez a antiga “intensidade” do Simon tenha sida transferida para uma nova obsessão. E claro, como a maioria das estórias sobre viagem no tempo, eu fiquei extremamente confusa sobre as especificidades de como tudo funcionava, e ainda não entendi muito bem como a próxima temporada irá funcionar. Vamos seguir duas linhas do tempo? Ou Simon e Alisha vão sair do programa? E isso fica mais complicado ainda quando eu nem sei se eu quero que eles voltem ou não. A minha mente crítica diz que eles deveriam continuar no passado. Desse jeito a morte da Alisha vai significar algo (e eu tenho que dizer que fiquei totalmente chocada e triste,  naquele momento) e ois dois terão um arco satisfatório. Mas a fã em mim só quer ver seus personagens queridos (principalmente o Simon) sobreviverem. O que vai acontecer, eu não sei, mas mal posso esperar pra descobrir.

Assisti: Episode 7 (3×07), Episode 8 (3×8)

SherlockSherlock

Sherlock está de volta depois da sua primeira temporada maravilhosa, e se todos os episódios forem como esse, será ainda melhor. A fotografia continua espetacular, os atores têm performances maravilhosas e esse caso explorou um dos aspectos mais intrigantes do Sherlock Holmes: Ele pode amar? O que isso significa pra ele?  Irene Adler funcionou tão bem porque ela não só era sexy e muito inteligente, mas os roteiristas também não tomaram o caminho fácil de transformá-la em uma versão feminina do Sherlock e ao invés disso ela era bem mais humana, e ainda assim brilhante. Benedict Cumberbatch fez um ótimo trabalho com todas as emoções complexas que Sherlock sentiu quando amor e sexo vieram a tona, e por mais que o final tenha sido meio forçado pra mim, eu fiquei feliz que ele manteve esse tipo de conexão com alguém na vida dele.

O episódio também teve muito Mycroft, algo que sempre me deixa feliz. Eu amo como Sherlock fica ainda mais birrento quando está perto do seu irmão, porque é o que geralmente acontece na vida real. Eu acho a relação deles muito interessante, e gostaria muito de saber mais sobre a situação em que eles cresceram. A única reclamação que eu ainda tenho, é que Moriarty ainda é meio cartunesco, mas como ele não aparece muito, isso não me incomoda tanto assim.

Assisti: A Scandal In Belgravia (2×01)

Jane By DesignJane By Design

Eu não tenho tanto a dizer sobre essa série, mas já que era um episódio piloto eu pensei que deveria escrever pelo menos um parágrafo. ABC Family teve uma ascensão interessante nesses últimos anos, e parece ser um dos pouco canais que sabe claramente o que a sua audiência quer. Claro que, por mais que seu branding seja consistente isso não significa que todas as suas séries tem a mesma qualidade. Essa aqui não é nenhuma “A Vida Secreta de uma Adolescente Americana” mas também não é nenhuma “Greek”. é bem medíocre, mas eu provavelmente continuarei assistindo pelo menos mais alguns episódios pelo mesmo motivo que eu ainda assisto “Make It Or Break It”: o assunto tratado na série. Como eu também sonho em passar uns tempos em Parsons (mas não pra estudar Moda), eu simpatizo bastante com  a Jane, e isso é o suficiente pra mim por enquanto.

Assisti: Pilot (1×01)

NewsradioNewsradio

Essa aqui eu tenho assistido não só essa semana, mas praticamente toda semana dos últimos meses. Eu comecei a assistir depois que alguém comentou que o David Hornsby de “How To Be A Gentleman” (série péssima, mas eu gostava do personagem principal) o fazia lembrar de Dave Nelson, e também porque eu sempre ouvi boas coisas sobre essa série.  Mas por mais que ótimas coisas tenham sido ditas, eu não sabia nada de específico e não tinha idéia do que esperar.

E quando eu assisti o piloto confesso que fiquei meio desapontada. A série mostrava bastante a idade que tem, a claque me irritava, e os personagens pareciam exagerados demais. Mas eu gostei do Dave e da Lisa (e mais ou menos da Beth), então continuei assistindo. E estou muito feliz por ter persistido. O tom da série não é o tipo que eu prefiro, mas depois que comecei a conhecer melhor os personagens a série melhorou, e muito, pra mim, e até mesmo personagens que me irritaram no piloto, como o louquinho chefe Jimmy James, viraram favoritos depois.

E na verdade isso nem deveria me surpreender tanto, já que é o que geralmente acontece com comédias. Especialmente as que tem um humor mais caricato, já que no início você não conhece nenhuma dessas pessoas, ham… exuberantes… e mal sabe o que elas estão fazendo na sua tv (ou pc, em certos casos). Mas quando você começa a conhecê-los, com todas as suas partes estranhas, e qualidades e defeitos, eles de repente se transformam naquele amigo seu que você achava muito esquisito, mas agora não consegue imaginar sua vida sem.

Watched: Led Zeppelin Boxed Set (3×13), Complaint Box (3×14), Rose Bowl (3×15), Kids (3×16), Airport (3×17), Twins (3×18) and Office Feud (3×19)
Também assisti: 2 Broke Girls (1×13: And The Secret Ingredient), Hacks (1×01: Pilot), Happy Ending (2×10: The Shrink, the Dare, Her Date and Her Brother), How I Met Your Mother (7×13: Tailgate), America’s Best Dance Crew (5×01: The South), Suburgatory (1×10: Driving Miss Dalia), The Middle (3×12: Year of the Hecks), The Secret Circle (1×10: Darkness) e The Vampire Diaries (3×10: The New Deal).

E vocês, o que assistiram essa semana?

—{—}—

So this is what I watched a million years ago when I was still in São Paulo. I was without internet for a while, and then my house was a mess, so I’m only getting to posting it now, as always, spoilers ahead.

MisfitsMisfits

Misfits was in an interesting position at the start of the its third season. It was a critically acclaimed show that always had a relaxed approach to storytelling and suddenly it had something to prove. I mean, don’t even try to deny that at the start of the season the big question on your mind was: Can the show survive without Nathan? Even though he was never the “official” main character of the show, Robert Sheehan was obviously its breakout star, and his character was probably the most talked about in most discussions about the show.

So, how did the season fare in solving the Nathan problem? It my opinion, it did very well in that regard. Rudy, was off course, not Nathan, and even though I can see the writers aiming for a largely comical character to fill that portion of the show, they succeeded in making Rudy his own person, and an interesting person at that. Honestly, I would’ve loved to get even more Rudy, or more specifically more inner Rudy, because every time he appeared I knew I was in for something heart-wrenching, funny and manic, all at the same time.

But that is always my biggest complain with Misfits, because of the shortened british season (and misfits, got a big season of 8 episodes, by british standards), and all the time spent on setting up the guest characters that usually end up dead at the end of the episodes, I always feel that I didn’t got enough time with misfits themselves. But that’s a minor complaint, in a show that does a lot of character work with the little time that is given.

This season for example, Alisha got to live her romance with Simon, and saw that is wasn’t that cool to have a superhero boyfriend. She also had to deal witht her past self when Rudy confronted her, and realized just how much she had grown up, and evolved in the course of the show. And unlike lesser shows, she didn’t suddenly transformed into the perfect girlfriend, or a totally different person just because she started dating Simon, she still maintained a lot of her naughty personality traits and sense of humor.

Curtis also had a very interesting journey with his new power and explored questions of sexuality in a way that only a sci-fi could do. In these days where sexuality seems like a complex, and even uncomfortable issue for most people, Misfits was able to handle it in way that it was impossible for the viewer to not question his or hers own assumptions about the theme. Kelly on another hand, had one of the most “normal” storylines, and finally found love, but even though the story wasn’t anything new, it was very well executed, and made Seth a regular, something that I’m very happy about. Rudy’s storyline didn’t go as deep as I wanted, but he had some very funny bits, and I hope he sticks with his power next season and we get to explore both Rudies in more detail.

Simon continued his storyline from the previous season, and I have to say that I’m not sure if the show stuck the landing on this one. I felt that sometimes his need to be this super-hero felt a little forced, but maybe the previous Simon “intensity” just got relocated in a new obsession. Also, as with most time travel stories, I was confused about how everything worked throughout most of the season, and I’m still not sure how it will all play out next season. Are we gonna follow the previous timeline and the new one? Or Simon and Alisha are no longer regulars in the show? And that is further complicated by the fact that I don’t know if I want them to come back or not. My critical mind says they should stay in the previous timeline. This way Alisha’s death will have true meaning (and I have to say her death played very well with me, I was utterly shocked and sad), and the both of them will have a complete and satisfactory arc. But the fan in me just wants my loved characters (especially Simon) to live on. What will happen I don’t know, but I can’t wait to find out.

Watched: Episode 7 (3×07), Episode 8 (3×8)

SherlockSherlock

Sherlock is back from its amazing first season, and if this episode is anything to go by, it is even better. The cinematography continues to be stunning, the actors are giving amazing performances, and this case finally explored one of the most intriguing aspects of Sherlock Holmes: Can he love? What does that even mean for him? The character of Irene Adler worked so well for me because she was very intelligent as well as sexy, but the writers refrained from simply making her the female Sherlock, and instead she got to be a lot more human, but still very cunning. Benedict Cumberbatch did such a great job of portraying all the complex emotions Sherlock felt when the subject of love and sex was brought up, and even though the ending felt a little bit too contrived for me, I was still happy that he gets to have that connection with someone in his life.

This episode was also very Mycroft heavy, which really pleased me. I love how Sherlock gets even more bratty when he’s around his brother, something that does happen in real life. I find their relationship very interesting, and would love to know more about what kind of upbringing shaped the Holmes brothers. The only complaint I have is that I still feel that Moriarty is too cartoony, but so far he hasn’t had that much screen time, so it doesn’t bother me that much.

Watched: A Scandal In Belgravia (2×01)

Jane By DesignJane By Design

I don’t have that many things to say about this one, but since it is a pilot I thought I should write at least a paragraph. ABC Family had an impressive rise in these past few years and it seems to be one of the few channels that clearly know what its audience wants. Now, even though it has been consistent with its branding it doesn’t mean that all their shows have the same quality. This one is no “The Secret Life Of The American Teenager” , but it’s also no “Greek”. It’s pretty mediocre and convoluted, but I’ll probably end up watching at least a few more episodes, for the same reason I’m still watching “Make It Or Break It” even though that show annoys me on almost every episode: I love the subject matter. As someone who also dreams of going to Parsons (but not to study fashion design), I can certainly relate to Jane, and that’s enough for me at the moment.

Watched: Pilot (1×01)

NewsradioNewsradio

So this one I have been watching not only this week but pretty much every week for the past few months. I started watching it after someone mentioned how David Hornsby from How To Be A Gentleman (terrible show, but I sort of liked the lead performance) reminded him of Dave Nelson, and also because I had always heard good things about this show. But even tough awesome things were indeed said, I did not know many specifics about the show, and didn’t know what to expect.

When I watched the pilot I was kind of disappointed. It just looked like a very old comedy, with a very loud laugh track, and some very broad characters. But I did like Dave and Lisa (and to a certain extent Beth), so I kept watching. And I’m very glad I did. The tone of the show is not my usual thing, but after I got to know the characters, the show improved a lot for me, and even characters that I really disliked in the pilot, like crazy boss Jimmy James turned into favorites later on.

And really, I shouldn’t be so surprised by this, since this is the way comedies often go. Especially the broader ones, since in the beginning you don’t know any of those loud people and ou often wonder what the hell are hey doing on your tv (or pc, in my case). But as you get to know them, theirs quirks and flaws, qualities and defects, they suddenly turn into that friend of yours that friend of yours that you used to find really weird, but now loves. And I have to say that I really like to have the newsradio gang as my crazy cool friends.

Watched: Led Zeppelin Boxed Set (3×13), Complaint Box (3×14), Rose Bowl (3×15), Kids (3×16), Airport (3×17), Twins (3×18) and Office Feud (3×19)
Also watched: 2 Broke Girls (1×13: And The Secret Ingredient), Hacks (1×01: Pilot), Happy Ending (2×10: The Shrink, the Dare, Her Date and Her Brother), How I Met Your Mother (7×13: Tailgate), America’s Best Dance Crew (5×01: The South), Suburgatory (1×10: Driving Miss Dalia), The Middle (3×12: Year of the Hecks), The Secret Circle (1×10: Darkness) e The Vampire Diaries (3×10: The New Deal).

What about you? What did you watch this week?

Posted in: TV