Pop Culture And You, Who’s Winning?

Posted on março 22, 2012

1


me and popculture

Jump to english

Eu acho que quartas-feiras são dias particularmente bons para a reflexão (já que geralmente estou cansada demais pra fazer qualquer outra coisa), então ontem estava pensando um pouco sobre esse blog, porque eu o escrevo, sobre o que ele é, o que quero dele no futuro, etc. E de repente percebi que esse blog “pessoal” é mais do que tudo sobre cultura pop, e comecei a pensar sobre o que esse fato diz sobre mim.

É verdade que frequentemente eu tento me definir através das coisas que consumo. As músicas que escuto, as séries  e filmes que assisto, os livros que leio, e lembro de uma vez dizer que um dos meus sonhos de vida era ser um repositório de cultura pop.  Mas então eu vi que com toda a minha obcessão com filmes e tv, eu nunca forjei uma amizade na vida real* por cause de algo relacionado a cultura pop, e não por falta de tentativa. mas no final os meus amigos de verdade geralmente não gostam das mesmas coisas do que eu (e quando gostam, geralmente fui eu que apresentei), e eu não tenho nenhum amigo que divida comigo o entusiasmo que tenho por cultura pop.

Então o que estou tentando dizer com tudo isso? Na verdade nem eu sei muito bem. As vezes eu me pergunto se eu deveria focar minha obcessão em algo mais “produtivo”, mas não acho que seja assim que esse tipo de coisa funcione. mas eu acho que deveria tentar me definir e me mostrar pro mundo de forma mais diversa, afinal por mais que eu gaste bastante tempo assistindo séries e filmes, lendo livros e jogando, isso não é TUDO que faço. As vezes é um pouco difícil mostrar esses outros lado em um blog, mas isso faz com que valha ainda mais a pena tentar.

E você? Que imagem você tenta projetar para o mundo? O seu eu virtual é muito diferente do seu eu real?

*Eu já formei uma amizade verdadeira no mundo virtual por causa de interesses em cultura pop, mas existiam outros fatores nessa equação e foi uma situação única pra mim.

—{—}—


I think that Wednesday’s are particularly good days for reflection (since I’m always too tired to do anything else), so yesterday I was thinking a little bit about this blog, why I’m doing it, what is it about, what do I want to do in the future, etc. Suddenly I realized that right now this “personal” blog is mostly about pop culture, and I began to think what this fact said about me.

I think it is true that I have often tried to define myself through the things that I consume. The music I like to listen to, the shows and films I like to watch, the books I read, and I remember once saying that one of my life goals was to be a pop culture repository. But then it downed on me that for all my obsession with movies and tv, I have never forge a real life relationship* on the basis of pop culture, and not for lack of trying. But in the end my true friends don’t always like the things I do (when they do, it is mostly because I introduced them to it), and I don’t have a single friend that shares my enthusiasm and fixation on all things pop culture.

Now, what I’m trying to say with all that? Honestly, I’m not sure. Sometimes I do wonder if I should focus my obsessions on something a little more “productive”, but I don’t think this is really something you choose. But I do think that I should try to define and present myself in more diverse ways, after all even though I do spend a lot of my time watching tv and film, reading books, and gaming, this is not ALL I do. Sometimes showing all this different sides in blog form is a little challenging, but all the more worth it because of it.

What about you? How do you present yourself to the world? Is virtual you significantly different from real you?

*I did forge one, very strong, virtual relationship because of shared pop culture interests but there were other considerations as well, and this was a very unique situation for me.

Posted in: Egotrip