TV Monday: New Girl, Cougar Town, Whitney

Posted on março 26, 2012

0


tvmondaynewcougarwhitney

Jump to english

Essa semana só temos comédias, algo que seria impossível a alguns anos atrás quando eu achava que comédias americanas simplesmente não eram pra mim. Quanta coisa mudou desde aquela época! E talvez alguns de vocês estejam pensando “Cadê Mad Men nesse post?”, eu sei que devia escrever sobre o pessoal da Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce, mas eu assisti ontem a noite de madrugada e meu cerébro ainda não processou o episódio muito bem. Mas assim que eu reassistir com a minha mãe escrevo algo aqui. Por agora, direi apenas o óbvio: Amei o episódio, duh! Como sempre, spoilers a seguir;

New Girl

Eu gostei de New Girl desde o início, mas ultimamente tem sido ainda melhor! Por mais que antes do lançamento o marketing tenha focado bastante em Zooey Deschanel como protagonista, rapidamente ficou claro que o resto do elenco era igualmente importante, porque mesmo pra quem ama a Zooey, como eu, ela pode ser um pouco demais quando a série se foca demais na Jess. No momento eu acho que o Nick e o Schmidt são personagens muito bem desenvolvidos, e Winston está chegando lá.

New Girl conseguiu fazer algumas coisas inesperadas funcionarem bem nas últimas semana, como por exemplo o relacionamento de Cece e Schmidt, que poderia ter sido um desastre completo e ao invés disso fez os dois personagens ainda melhores; e a transformação de Nick Miller em um ser humano, que ultrapassou sua fase de caricatura em “Injured”, um dos melhores episódios da temporada.

O episódio dessa semana, “Mr. Fancyman” não só foi hilário, com piadas sem parar, mas também falou sobre o péssimo gosto em homens de Jess (e a Zooey realmente me fez acreditar que uma garota bonita como ela iria acabar com aquele ex0namorado nojento dela) e teve um dos encerramentos mais engraçados dos últimos tempos. Nick Miller, Presidente da Terra!

Assisti: Fancyman Part 1 (1×17)

Cougar Town

Por um tempo eu fiquei preocupada que essa série iria desaparecer da minha vida por causa de baixa audiência, ou que voltaria e não seria tão boa, mas a terceira temporada até agora tem sido maravilhosa. Essa série definitivamente não tem medo de deixar seus personagens crescerem e mudarem, e coisas ditas e feitas no passado tem consequências.

Isso foi verdade nas duas estórias principais desse episódio. A maior, é claro, foi que Grayson agora é papai! Eu fiquei totalmente chocada com a revelação, mas ao mesmo tempo feliz por Grayson. Eu acho que ele será um ótimo pai. Mas só porque ele não é o mesmoGrayson que conhecemos no início da série, e e aé mesmo diferente do Grayson que começou  namorar a Jules. Sim, ela pode ser irritante e sufocante, mas o jeito insano dela teve resultados, e ele é uma pessoa mais aberta por causa disso.

Eu também amei como os roteiristas trouxeram de volta o episódio no Havaí onde Laurie manipulou o Travis, e é sempre bom ver uma  comédia tratar um momento como aquele de forma genuína. Como Travis disse, não é nem um pouco legal, ou “fofo” quando o romance só vem de um lado, e fico feliz em ver que o Travis foi maduro o bastante pra dizer isso pra Laurie. Mas eu ainda torço pra que ela se apaixone por ele um dia desses, porque apesar de não achar que eles seriam um bom par pra durar a vida inteira, seria bem divertido ver os dois namorando.

Assisti: Something Big (3×06)

WhitneyWhitney

Eu sempre tive sentimentos conflitantes sobre Whitney. Os críticos odiaram a série do início, e eu conseguia ver o porque, mas de algum jeito eu sempre acabava voltando. Os personagens são caricaturas, em sua maioria, a série tem um tipo de humor exagerado que geralmente não faz meu estilo, e já teve uns plots mais do que idiotas, mas eu meio que sempre gostei do Alex e da Whitney, e como o relacionamento deles parecia “real” (em se tratando de uma série de comédia) no meio da zona que o resto da série é. Até me lembrava um pouco das loucuras de Vani e Rui em “Os Normais”.

Mas depois dessa semana, meus conflitos não só acabaram, como eu estou torcendo (e muito!) pra série voltar na segunda temporada, e tudo por causa dessa cena:

Como eu disse, eu sempre gostei do personagem Whitney, mas a atriz Whitney Cummings me surpreendeu muito nessa cena.  Foi repetido muitas vezes o quanto Whit tinha medo de se comprometer, mas nesse momento fez todo sentido ela dizer sim, e isso foi construído ao longo da temporada inteira, de um modo até sutil, eu diria. Agora só posso torcer pra que tenhamos uma segunda temporada, porque quero muito ver como Whitney vai lidar com a realidade do comprometimento. Não que eu possa julgá-la claro, também levei uma temporada inteira pra chegar lá.

Assisti: Something Old, Something New (1×21)
Também assisti: 2 Broke Girls (1×19: And the Spring Break), Archer (3×13: Space Race Part II), Awake(1×04: Kate is Enough), Bob’s Burgers (2×02: Bob Day Afternoon), Community (2×12: Contemporary Impressionists), Dance Academy (2×13: Backstab,2×14: Rescue Mission), Fringe (4×15: A Short Story About Love), Happy Endings (2×19: You Snooze, You Bruise), House of Lies (1×10: Prologue and Aftermath, 1×11: Business), Mad Men (5×01: A Little Kiss Part 1, 5×02: A Little Kiss Part 2),  Once Upon a Time (1×15: Red Handed, 1×16: Heart of Darkness), Project Runway All Stars (1×11, 1×12), Raising Hope (2×18: Poking Holes in the Story), The Good Wife (3×19: Blue Ribbon Panel), The Secret Circle (1×17: Curse), The Secret Lives Of Dancers (2×07), The Vampire Diaries (3×17: Break On Through), Unsupervised (1×10: Youngbloods), Up All Night (1×21: Daddy Daughter Time), White Collar (3×16: Judgment Day)

E você, o que assistiu essa semana?


—{—}—

This week it’s all comedies, something I could never have imagined some years ago, when I just didn’t “get” american comedies. A lot of things have changed since then! And some of you may be wondering “Where’s Mad Men in this post?”, I know I should totally write about it, but I watched it very late last night, and my brain has not processed it yet. I promise that I soon as I rewatch it with my mom, I will give a more detailed account. For now, I’ll only say the obvious: I loved it! As always, spoilers ahead.

New Girl

I have loved New Girl pretty much from day one, but lately the show has been even better! Even though before launch the show was mostly marketed as a vehicle for Zooey Deschanel, it became clear pretty clearly that this had to be an ensemble piece, because even for the Zooey lovers, it can be too much when the focus is only Jess. At this point I feel that Nick and Schmidt have very well-developed characters, and Winston is slowly getting there.

The show has also made some tricky things work well this past few weeks, like Cece’s and Schmidt relationship, that could’ve been a total disaster, but instead made both characters better; and the humanization of Nick miller, that went from grumpy cartoon character to “real” person, especially after “Injured”, one of the best episodes of the series so far.

This week’s episode, “Mr. Fancyman” was not only hilarious, with non-stop jokes, but also addressed Jess awful taste in men (and it’s a great testament to Zooey that I totally buy that a pretty girl like her would hook up with that awful boyfriend) and had one of the funniest tags I’ve seen in a while. Nick Miller, President Of Earth!

Watched: Fancyman Part 1 (1×17)

Cougar Town

I was a bit worried for a while that this show was going to disappear from my life, or that it would come back and not be as good, but the third season so far has been amazing. This shows is definitely not afraid of letting their characters grow and change, and things done and said in the past, do have consequences.

This was true on both of the main storylines this week. The big one of course was that Grayson is a father! I was totally shocked by that one, but at the same time, so happy for Grayson! I think he’ll be a great dad. But only because he is not the same Grayson that we met at the start of the show, and not even the same Grayson he was when he started dating Jules. Yes, she can be annoying and overbearing, but her crazy antics did make him open up and became a better person in the process.

I also loved the callback to Laurie’s manipulation of Travis in the Hawaii episode, and it’s refreshing to see a comedy treat a moment like that with real sentiment. Like Travis said, it’s not funny, or “cute” when romance is one-sided, and I’m glad Travis has matured enough to be able to say that to Laurie. But I do hope that she’ll fall in love with him some day, because even though I don’t think they would be a good match for forever, it would be fun to see them dating.

Watched: Something Big (3×06)

WhitneyWhitney

I’ve always had conflicted feelings about Whitney. Critics were down on the show from the start, and I could certainly see why, but somehow I kept coming back. The characters are mostly caricatures, the show can be super broad and they had some pretty moronic storylines in the past, but I always sort of liked Whitney and Alex, and how their relationship felt real (even if a little heightened) in the middle of the mess the show is. It reminded me a little bit of a brazilian show called “Os Normais” .

But after this week, not only I wont be conflicted at all but I’m actually hoping that NBC renews this shows into a second season, and all because of this little scene:

Like I said, I’ve always liked the character Whitney, but the actress Whitney Cummings really surprised me on the scene. We’ve been told how Whit is afraid of commitment many times, but here in this moment it made perfect sense that she would say yes, and in fact the whole season has been leading up to that point. And can only hope that we get a season 2 to see how Whitney is gonna deal with this once reality kicks in. Not that I can judge her of course, after all it also took me an entire season to commit.

Watched: Something Old, Something New (1×21)
Also watched: 2 Broke Girls (1×19: And the Spring Break), Archer (3×13: Space Race Part II), Awake(1×04: Kate is Enough), Bob’s Burgers (2×02: Bob Day Afternoon), Community (2×12: Contemporary Impressionists), Dance Academy (2×13: Backstab,2×14: Rescue Mission), Fringe (4×15: A Short Story About Love), Happy Endings (2×19: You Snooze, You Bruise), House of Lies (1×10: Prologue and Aftermath, 1×11: Business), Mad Men (5×01: A Little Kiss Part 1, 5×02: A Little Kiss Part 2),  Once Upon a Time (1×15: Red Handed, 1×16: Heart of Darkness), Project Runway All Stars (1×11, 1×12), Raising Hope (2×18: Poking Holes in the Story), The Good Wife (3×19: Blue Ribbon Panel), The Secret Circle (1×17: Curse), The Secret Lives Of Dancers (2×07), The Vampire Diaries (3×17: Break On Through), Unsupervised (1×10: Youngbloods), Up All Night (1×21: Daddy Daughter Time), White Collar (3×16: Judgment Day)

What about you? What did you watch this week?

Posted in: TV